Client Reviews

This year i  met  Ruth ,What a find 

Last summer quite by chance i came across metres of stunning material , then i found shoes the exact colour whilst on holiday in France .

The material was iridescent  so eye catching and had a vision for a dress just needed an amazing dressmaker to create my dream , Ruth created my dream dress .

We met and discussed what i had in mine and then over a series of appointments my dress became reality                                                                                         

Her needlework is simply the best .her attention to detail was exemplary and was so patient with me and my fluctuating weight whilst she was creating my dress .

Ruth is already working on dress Number 2 having only finished number one dress 2 weeks ago.

I can highly recommend Ruth to anyone who is needing a bespoke dress for a black tie event .

                                                                                                                      MELANIE SUMNER 2018

Due to my weight I was a little apprehensive to go to a seamstress/dressmaker.  How wrong could I be with Ruth, she made me feel so welcome & relaxed, I suppose she's seen so many different sizes along her way!!  I bought a dress, knowing what changes I wanted.  I always dreamed of a corset back but the dress I bought didn't have this. Oh my god, wow is what I say to Ruth, she did an amazing job of putting a corset back on my dress, I loved it. As the weeks went on I visited for alterations at times that were convenient for me as I worked, this was an asset to me, so thank you Ruth.  After several weeks, my dress was coming together, finalising the train hook & length.  I think 2 weeks before the day, I decided I wanted straps .... Little caps over the shoulders.  Again nothing was a problem for Ruth, she was so calm but that's because she's good at what she does, and I just felt these finished off the final touches.  Thank you so much Ruth, my dress was amazing, I really did feel like a princess, you transformed a plain dress to a me feeling like a bride, it was stunning, all my guests agreed, even my husband & what do men normally know about clothes.  Thank you again

                                                                                                                   NICOLA September 2017

" I would highly recommend Ruth as she is professional and attentive from start to finish. She has made my dream wedding dress a reality. Exceptional quality and care in every stitch.

                                                                                                            PAMELA FOSTER March 2017

I could not be happier with Ruth's work. After ordering a beautiful prom dress for my daughter online, unfortunately it arrived a size too big and far too long. I found Ruth's website online and after reading the reviews, asked her if she would be able to alter the dress for me.

She was a pleasure to deal with and the dress now fits perfectly and my daughter is thrilled with it. Ruth offers exceptional quality alterations and dressmaking for great value. I can't thank her enough.                                                                                                             JANICE COWLAND March 2017

I found Ruth after going to every wedding dress shop in Northamptonshire and not being able to find a dress that I felt comfortable in.  On the first meeting she produced a piece of material that I just knew was perfect for me. She was beyond patient with inability to make a decision about the dress design and she kept bringing the dress in for me as I lost weight. On the day I felt so comfortable and confident.  I would recommend Ruth to anyone. She was brilliant.  NATASHA KILBY February 2017

Ruth is an extremely talented seamstress, I was marrying for the second time so did not want a traditional wedding dress instead I wanted something based on a much loved dress my (now) husband had given as a gift. Ruth helped me to select the ideal materials and created a dress that was perfect for marrying on the beach in Maui. Ruth was flexible about our appointments (which I really appreciated) and was always friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate in recommending Ruth.                                                                                                              JENAYA JANUARY 2017

The wedding dress shop I bought my dress from (Wed2B) recommended Ruth and I'm so glad they did. Ruth's knowledge and help was second to none; every visit I felt confident in her vision, experience and obvious talent for tailoring each dress to the bride - just the way she envisioned it. Ruth even added little buttons on to the belt of my wedding dress when I told her that I'd always wanted a buttoned dress and felt sad my dress had a zip instead! The dress was a little tight on my ribs and hips; no problem for Ruth, who somehow made a little room so it fit perfectly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend R May Couture to friends and family for special occasion dresses - I felt so happy and confident thanks to Ruth's work!                           FELICITY BROWN DECEMBER 2016

 

The bridal shop I bought my wedding dress from recommended Ruth to carry out the alterations and I am grateful they did. With her knowledge, advice and talent I now have the perfect wedding dress. She made me feel so relaxed , nothing was to much trouble and Ruth went above and beyond my expectations. Thank you so much Ruth, I certainly will be recommending you to others !!!                                                                                                                             CHARLOTTE December 2016

 

I approached Ruth earlier in the year in regard to some alterations being required on my wedding dress. I arrived thinking I'd just need a few inches snipping off the bottom and a safety pin sticking somewhere around the bust to make sure it stayed up. Such was my knowledge of sewing. Ruth's cunning with a needle and thread and amazing attention to detail made it feel like I'd had a dress made for me from scratch. She suggested (and did!) things I'd never even have known were possible had I been left to my own devices. There were bones inserted in the bust area to make sure the top fitted properly, a beautifully shortened bottom that flowed seamlessly into the train of the dress and she even had the foresight to take a couple of tiny millimetres out of the waist to ensure a good fit. All this with only two fittings which lasted a matter of minutes, and the dress was ready in a matter of weeks. Her attention to detail and skill is second to none, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ruth for any alterations you may require. From my point of view, her talent knows no bounds.

                                                                                                                 MICHELLE september 2016

I am writing to recommend the work of Ruth at Rmay Couture. I initially approached Ruth in January 2015, after a recommendation from a friend. As soon as I contacted Ruth I was impressed with her prompt communication, accommodating style and ideas. I was lucky enough to have Ruth make four adult bridesmaid dresses, alterations to my own wedding dress, modification to two flower girl dresses, alterations to the Mother of the Brides outfit and production and alterations to various other wedding items.

Every visit to Ruth was a pleasure; Ruth is knowledgeable about her work and makes sensitive suggestions without expectation that you will choose one idea over another. Ruth took great care in how she worked with each bridesmaid to accommodate their different needs, even working with skype for one of my bridesmaids who lives in Australia.  Ruth worked tirelessly to ensure the dress fitted well and worked extremely hard in the last week before the wedding to complete the garment when my bridesmaid was in the country. The dresses Ruth made from scratch were beautiful. The girls were comfortable in their dresses and looked wonderful.

The alterations to my own dress were again done with such care, precision and thought I couldn’t help but be impressed. My dress was actually made up of two dresses and Ruth spent a great amount of time ensuring each piece fitted perfectly separately and together. The work Ruth did on shortening the lace of my dress was truly amazing. My dress fitted perfectly meaning I was comfortable I spent all day feeling happy, comfortable and secure even being able to Ceilidh dance in the evening.

The alterations carried out on my mother’s dress were also particularly impressive. As the dress was one which required careful handling and thoughtful alterations.

In summary I wholeheartedly recommend Ruth to anyone looking for an excellent seamstress. Ruth`s work is precise, well thought out and executed with such care and attention to detail. Everything she produces is beautiful. Ruth as a person is considerate, helpful, knowledgeable and supportive. I certainly hope to work with her again.Ruth was the one person in our wedding planning who I met that I had complete confidence in……SARAH ..October 2015

 

 

The standard of your work has been professional throughout, right down to the last detail. your knowledge and experience of dressmaking as well as weddingsin general has been invaluable to me and i will not hesitate to recommend you to others..                                              .FLO August 2015

Ruth has altered four dresses for my daughters Wedding party. Wedding dress, Bridesmaid, Mother of Bride and Mother of Groom. We would all recommend Ruth without hesitation, she is a lovely lady whose very talented and her work is to the highest standard. We are all very happy.Thank you so much for all your hard work...                      FAYE, SANDRA, KATY and SYLVIA .....Summer 2015

 

I have to say you were certainly one of the best encounters and experience I had during the planning of my wedding. Having been let down by the after service of the recommended seamstress from the bridal store, you made the task of not just altering my dress (which was a handful)! but also my 3yr olds flower girl dress and my after party dress. Your honest advice, suggested alterations and added service that I would have never have thought off such as the internal band to ensure the dress stayed in place was excellent. Competitively priced, value for money and you definitely exceeded my expectations! My next task is altering my dress so I can wear it again! From one business owner to the other - you were amazing                                                                                               RACHEL

 

"I always use this service whether it is for alterations or having something made. Ruth always does exactly what you ask and in a very quick time frame. Ruth provides an excellent service and I would definitely recommend her"                                                                                                         HELEN

 

"I am getting married on August 25th in my dream dress....all thanks to Ruth. I chose a dress in a bit of a hurry and when it arrived, it was a size too big and did not fit at all like the dress I had tried on in the shop. I was about to buy another dress when I spotted Ruth's details online. Ruth has made me fall in love all over again with my dress and I cannot thank her enough! She is a lovely lady and made me feel so relaxed about what could have been an absolute disaster. She has also altered my bridesmaids dress and is dressing me on the day so that I look absolutely perfect. I am so glad I found Ruth and will use her for any alteration services from now on! I cannot recommend her highly enough"                                                                                                                   BECCA HADDON

"This lady is amazing - I had a wedding dress which was heavily beaded and very outdated, The bodice was scalloped with short sleeves, I hated it and didn't think anyone could do anything with it. How wrong I was - Ruth worked her magic and turned it into a dream dress - off came the sleeves and the scallops were transformed into a v-neckline and in a few weeks I had my dream dress. Would definitely recommend Ruth. She also made my friend's wedding dress from a sketch - that was also another stunning creation"                                                                                   LORRAINE

 

"We have used Ruth now for over a year for all of my suit alterations and my wife’s dress alterations. She also embroidered dressing gowns for our wedding. She is polite, responsive and always produces high quality alterations (even when we haven’t given her much notice) We would recommend Rmay Couture to anyone in Northampton looking for dress making and alteration services"                                                                                               MIKE and MAXINE ANDERSON

 

"I knew what I wanted to wear for my wedding I had my own design in mind of how I wanted to look on my special day, and I knew I would not find what I was looking for in the shops. From the first consultation I had, to when my dress was finished the passion and the professionalism was outstanding. The attention to detail was fabulous and nothing was ever too much trouble. I was made to feel very special"   MARY BERRY

 

"I had a very specific image in my mind about my medieval style wedding gown so designed it myself as I knew I wasn't going to find it in any bridal shop, and Ruth brought it spectacularly to life - above and beyond my expectations. Her attention to detail, her perfectionism, and her patience all helped to make me look and feel perfect on our big day. 3 months on and I'm STILL getting compliments about my dress! Thank you Ruth for all your hard work, your patience and understanding, and for listening to me whinge about my wedding troubles!! You're amazinG"                                                    MARIE

 

"I needed my bridesmaid dress reducing by 2 sizes in less than 2 weeks. Ruth did a stunning job in less than a week! It fits amazing and I can't wait to wear it! "                                                PAULA

"A very professional service, I felt like a princess on my wedding day with great thanks to Ruth"   NINA

"I can wholeheartedly recommend Ruth to anybody considering having an outfit made. The service I received whist having an outfit made for my son’s wedding was above and beyond what I expected. Ruth offers a very personal service, a professional and friendly attitude making you feel comfortable, at ease and under no pressure at all. My outfit was admired by all and will also be my outfit for Ascot next year"                                                                                                                               WENDY

 

"Ruth made my wedding dress and 5 bridesmaids? Dresses. From start to finish Ruth was brilliant! Really understanding when I kept changing my mind. Ruth definitely provided a personal service to cater for my every need. I was thrilled with my dress and my bridesmaid’s dresses. They all fitted so well and looked beautiful. Thank you so much Ruth, you made my wedding day perfect! "  LYNNE

 

"After Ruth did such a great job altering my bridesmaid's dress a few years ago, I was confident going back to her this year with my own wedding dress and all my bridesmaid's dresses. Ruth had to make a lot of alterations to my dress, as it was about 3 sizes too big and had a lot of beads and detail which needed removing and re-applying! But now it fits like a glove and looks perfect! I'm so pleased with my dress, and all my bridesmaid's dresses. Thanks Ruth! "                                   FAYE

"Ruth made beautiful dresses for my three bridesmaids just from a picture. With one living some distance she also worked very hard to get that whole dress made from start to finishes in just a few days. They all looked wonderful on the day. In addition to that I have had some of my owned clothes altered too with great results"   PHILIPPA

I really appreciate all the time and effort you put into getting the fit and finish of my dress just right for me   DIANE

 Ruth  so very talented. Thank you very much my dress is stunning !!     MARIE 

Thank you for making me my dream wedding dress. Without you it wouldn`t of been possible. Keep doing what you do you     KELLIE

 Thank you for making me a perfect wedding dress      GEMMA

Thank you for alterating my wedding dress. It fits perfecly now and so beautifully done "     CHERYL

Thank you so much for all your help and sincere kindness beyond anything I could have asked for. Thanks to you my bridesmaids looked wonderful.    KATY

Thankyou so much for making the beautiful dresses  Pat

Thank you so much for all your hard work in producing my beautiful dress. Everyone commented  JAN

Welcome to RMay Couture

Ruth Lyall is a Designer Dressmaker and Tailor in Northampton,
Northamptonshire who specialises in Wedding Dresses,
Christening Robes and Alterations.